Uncategorized

Make SSRS Report with Multiple Sub Reports Render Faster

Problem Statement:

SSRS provides an easy way of building sub reports. But this again comes with its own disadvantages.

When there are a no. of sub reports say 10 or 20 then the main report takes a long time to render.

Solution:

Though this solution may not be the most efficient one but it helped me somehow in making the rendering a bit faster.

I implemented the caching technique which comes inbuilt in the SSRS.

I added a cache refresh plan in the .rdl file and scheduled it so that ssrs keeps a copy in the cache for that particular report. I scheduled the cache refresh plan to run every morning at 5am. I had also set the cache copy to expire everyday at 11:59pm so that the cache is loaded again with the latest copy.

The cache expiry options can be managed through processing options in .rdl file.

This solution didn’t eliminate my problem completely but it reduced the rendering time considerably.

2 thoughts on “Make SSRS Report with Multiple Sub Reports Render Faster”

Leave a comment